Scottish Football Writers Association


Always on the ball

THE Scottish Football Writers’ Association aims to look after the best interests of professional football writers in Scotland and has been doing so since its formation in 1957.

The SFWA endeavours to obtain the highest standard of facilities for its members at football grounds and training grounds across the country – and beyond – and maintain close relations with all football associations, leagues and clubs.

In the pioneering days, a hard-wired phone was the pre-requisite for any journalist trying to file copy. Now heaven, is a comfortable work-space, with power and wi-fi.

The SFWA also regularly liaises with clubs and the governing bodies to ensure that best practices are followed for the betterment of coverage of football in Scotland.

The Association has worked hard over the years to produce the best working conditions for members and access for interviews in keeping with UEFA and FIFA protocols.

The Association also introduced the Player of the Year award in 1965 and it remains the most prestigious individual honour in the Scottish game.

The annual dinner where this award is presented along with the Young Player of the Year, Manager of the Year, International Player of the Year and Media Team of the Year is the highlight of the awards season.

The Association also seeks to promote good relations between all members and also visiting journalists who may need assistance.

From early beginnings, there are now 120 members of the Scottish Football Writers' Association in print and digital journalism.

Office bearers:
President – Stephen Halliday (The Scotsman)
Secretary – John McGarry (Daily Mail)
Treasurer – Iain Macfarlane (freelance)
Dinner Secretary - Garteth Law (The Scottish Sun)
Committee: Mark Guidi (freelance), David Walker (Sunday Post), Graeme Croser (Mail on Sunday), Scott McDermott (Sunday Mail), Lindsay Herron (freelance).


Our history

THE seeds were sown for the formation of the SFWA during the Scottish national team’s three-match tour in the summer of 1957, the last of which was against Spain in Madrid.

Read More