Scottish Football Writers Association



Iain wins Ron Scott Cup


IAIN MACFARLANE is the first winner of the new Ron Scott Cup after a fine display of golf at Mar Hall.

The traditional spring outing had a new look to it after the Association decided to honour our former president and stalwart Sunday Post writer who passed away a year ago.

Ron was a great supporter of the biannual golf days and a great competitor too. It is also fair to say he enjoyed the 19th hole as well.

So a new trophy was commissioned in his honour to replace the Dewar Cup, which had been given to the Association by the whisky company back in the 1960s.

Iain, who had just left Express newspapers after 24 years for new adventures, came out on top on May 7 shooting 35 points over the Mar Hall course, holding off Lindsay Herron (33) and Gordon Waddell (32).

The SFWA would like to thank William Hill for their generous sponsorship of a great day on the banks of the Clyde at Bishopton.


Lindsay Herron