Scottish Football Writers Association



All change at the SFWA

Stephen Halliday has ended hiis three years as SFWA president

Stephen Halliday has ended hiis three years as SFWA president

IT’s all change at the Scottish Football Writers’ Association following last night’s annual meeting.

We have three new office bearers and another two new committee members but unlike the House of Commons it was all very amicable.

After three splendid years as President, Stephen Halliday stands down. Lindsay Herron takes over and it’s a first for the association as Dad Allan, a founder member, was in charge between 1975 and 1978.

John McGarry also completed his final duties as secretary having already indicated he was giving up the role after 12 fastidious years of service.

Scott McDermott has stepped into the breach and has already embraced the modern age by setting up a WhatsApp group for the committee.

And we have a new treasurer in the shape of PA chief Gavin McCafferty, who is one of three new recruits to the committee along with Alison McConnell and Michael Grant.

That’s because of a new career path for Iain Macfarlane who has landed the lead communications role with England Golf.

Iain has also given fantastic service to the SFWA having also successfully run our bi-annual golf competitions in tandem with his treasurer’s role.

Last, but certainly not least, former president Mark Guidi is coming off committee and he will be a major loss having been such an asset in making our annual dinner the number one event in the country.

‘Doc’, who has been a terrific figurehead, remains on committee for one more year as per our constitution and will be a massive help to our new recruits.

So we have a fresh look but the same drive and determination to ensure that football writers enjoy the best working environment in these difficult times.

It can be reported that we are in good financial health but we face some sponsorship challenges and there will be hard work in the months ahead.

And for your diary, the 2020 annual dinner will be held on Sunday, May 17. A date and venue for the Golf Championship will be forthcoming.


Lindsay Herron